A Look Back At The IPL 2023| IPL Awards Winners

Home » A Look Back At The IPL 2023| IPL Awards Winners

The Indian Premier League IPL 2023 concluded two months ago with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) winning the title for the 5th time. Gujarat Titans (GT), even after posting a big total of 214 on the board, failed to defend a revised target of 171 in 15 overs. The fans enjoyed every moment of the Indian Premier League 2023. And we saw so many close games going into the wire. Even the final was a nail-biting thriller.

Today, we will have a look back at the IPL 2023 points table, stats, award winners, and much more. So without any further ado, let’s get into it.

IPL 2023 Points Table (Top 4 Teams)

Ruthless Gujarat Titans at the top

Just like IPL 2022, GT has dominated the points table charts with 10 wins in 14 games. They finished at the top of the points table. But they lost the first qualifier against Chennai Super Kings by 15 runs.

They managed to win the 2nd qualifier against Mumbai Indians (MI) by 62 runs and reach the final of IPL 2023. But again they failed to beat CSK in the final.

CSK’s collective batting effort, Jadeja’s heroics deny GT’s 2nd consecutive IPL title

CSK got a revised target of 171 in 15 overs. The openers, R Gaikwad and Devon Conway went off to a flier and added 74 runs in 6.3 overs. After that, Rahane and Rayudu played a crucial cameo before falling to Mohit Sharma.

MS Dhoni got out of the very first ball and the equation comes down to 22 runs needed off 13 balls with 5 wickets left.

Then, Ravindra Jadeja came in and played a match-winning cameo of 15 off 6 balls. CSK won their 5th title under MS Dhoni’s captaincy.

CSK’s 5th title

CSK finished at No. 2 in the points table. They won the IPL 2023 title and now have equal trophies (5) with MI.

Lucknow Super Giants are in the playoffs for the 2nd time

LSG reach the playoffs last year as well, but they didn’t go a step further. This time as well, after reaching the playoffs, they lost the eliminator against MI and were knocked out of IPL 2023.

Mumbai Indians came back from behind

As usual, we saw MI coming back from behind. They didn’t start the tournament well but peaked at the right time. But after winning an eliminator, they lost the 2nd qualifier against GT.

RCB and RR were in contention

Both teams were in contention till the last day of the league stages. But MI went past them and Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals were eliminated from IPL 2023.

No playoffs for PBKS, KKR, DC, SRH

All 4 teams got eliminated after a poor run in the tournament. Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings finished at No. 7 and 8, but at one stage, they were also fighting for that 4th spot.

Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad didn’t even come closer to qualifying and finished in the bottom 2.

A Complete List Of Award winners in IPL 2023:-

(1) Yashasvi wins the emerging player award

Yashasvi Jaiswal, after his outstanding run in IPL 2023, won the Emerging Player of the Year award. He scored 625 runs in 14 games with an average of 48 and a strike rate of 163.61.

Jaiswal also scored the fastest fifty in the IPL history till now. He scored a 13-ball fifty against KKR.

(2) Shubman with 3 awards in IPL 2023

Shubman Gill scored the most runs in IPL 2023. He scored 890 runs in 17 games with an average of 59.33 and a strike rate of 157.80.

(a) IPL Orange Cap Winner

Gill won the Orange Cap for the most runs in IPL 2023.

(b) Player of the Series

He also won the Player of the Series award. Unfortunately, he ended up on the losing side in the final.

(c) Most Valuable Player

Along with the other two awards, he also won the Most Valuable Player award as well. It was a breakthrough season for Gill.

(3) IPL Purple Cap Winner: M Shami with the purple cap

Shami showed his class in IPL 2023 and took 28 wickets in 17 games with an average of 18.61. Especially with the new ball, he made life difficult for the opposition batters.

(4) Rashid has the best catch of IPL 2023

Rashid Khan won the catch of the season award for his catch of K Mayers in the tournament.

(5) DC wins the Fairplay

Although DC had a poor run in IPL 2023, they won the Fairplay award this season.


The IPL always comes as a festival in India. Not just in India, fans from all around the world love to see this marquee tournament as so many big players from all around the world play in this league. We had a look back at the IPL 2023. From Jaiswal’s fastest fifty, Rinku’s 5 sixes to Virat-Gamnhir’s fight, we saw so many moments in IPL 2023.

The next edition of the IPL is more than 8 months away. What do you think? Who will win IPL 2024? Comment your answers below. Thank you for reading the article. We hope you like it. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2023 Batvisa News