Fortune Barisal Has Signed David Miller | BPL 2024

Home » Fortune Barisal Has Signed David Miller | BPL 2024

The 10th edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL 2024) is set to take place on January 19. Durdanto Dhaka and the current champions Comilla Victorians will lock horns in the tournament opener at Dhaka, Shere Bangla National Stadium. The three times runners-up, Fortune Barishal have signed a destructive T20 batter David Miller in the team for the upcoming season. They have added some other big names to the team as well like Mushfiqur Rahim and Soumya Sarkar.

Today, we will give you whole details regarding Fortune Barishal’s franchise along with some tournament’s history. So don’t go anywhere.

Fortune Barishal Roped In David Miller For The BPL 2024

Fortune Barishal signed David Miller for the BPL 2024. They are banking on him to change their fortunes as the franchise never won a BPL title yet.

David Miller has been one of the most destructive T20 batters around the world. His ability to hit sixes and score quick runs makes him an important player for any team. The South African middle-order batter can win games lower down the order. And because of his reputation of being a big hitter, the bowlers fear to bowl to him.

David Miller has matured as a player in white ball cricket. He changed his game, especially against the spinners, against which he struggled earlier. He plays the situation well and helps his team to win games.

David Miller Has Played So Much On Franchise Cricket

David Miller has been an active participant in franchise cricket all over the world. Other than the national side, he has played for different franchises in different leagues all around the world. He played in the Indian Premier League (IPL), T20 Blast, Caribbean Premier League (CPL), Big Bash League (BBL), T10 League, SA20, Sri Lankan Premier League (SLPL), and a few other franchise leagues around the world.

His demand in league cricket shows how good a player he is. He was even a part of BPL franchises before as well.

David Miller’s form in the last couple of years has been phenomenal. He has done well for Gujarat Titans in IPL 2022 and contributed to the team’s success in the title win. The left-hander has scored 481 runs with an outstanding strike rate of almost 143. Even for South Africa, he has done exceptionally well. And how can we forget his lone warrior inning recently in an ICC WC 2023 semifinal against Australia? Unfortunately, the inning went in vain as Australia got over the line.

A Few Big Names In Fortune Barishal For The BPL 2024

The Barishal franchise has retained a few players like Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Khaled Ahmed, and Ibrahim Zadran. They have added a few local talents this year in Mushfiqur Rahim and Soumya Sarkar.

The franchise has also added some foreign players in Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, and Abbas Afridi, Ireland’s Paul Stirling, and Sri Lanka’s young sensation Dunith Wellalage. Sri Lanka’s Nuwan Thushara will also join Fortune Barishal in the BPL 2024.

Bangladesh’s legendary opener Tamim Iqbal will lead the side in the upcoming season after Shakib al Hasan joined Rangpur Riders. Tamim is also the highest run scorer in tournament history with 2930 runs.

Fortune Barishal’s Performances In The Bangladesh Premier League BPL History

The franchise was established in the inaugural season in 2012. But they have only played in 6 seasons of the tournament. They haven’t participated during 2017-20.

In those 6 seasons, they have reached the finals three times (in 2012, 2015, and 2022). But they didn’t cross the line and won the title. Over the years, they have changed the name as well. At first, they were named Barisal Burners before changing into Barisal Bulls. Now, they are called Fortune Barishal, owned by Fortune Group.


Let’s see what they do in the BPL 2024. And let’s see if David Miller changes the fortunes of the franchise this year or not. The BPL 2024 will commence on January 19. Fortune Barishal will play their first game against Rangpur Riders on January 20 at Dhaka.

A total of 46 matches will be played including the two Qualifiers, an Eliminator, and a Final. Dhaka will host the final on March 01, 2024.

What do you think? Will Fortune Barishal win its first-ever BPL title in 2024? Comment your predictions below.

Thank you for reading the article. We hope you like it. Keep following us for the latest updates.


1. Which team has won the most titles in Bangladesh Premier League history?

Comilla Victorians is the most successful team in the BPL  history. They won the title four times (in 2015, 2018, 2022, and 2023). Dhaka franchise is the 2nd most successful team with 3 titles while Rangpur Riders and Rajshahi Royals also won a title each.

2. Who is the highest wicket-taker in BPL history?

Shakib al Hasan is the highest wicket-taker in the tournament history with 132 wickets. He also won the Player of the Tournament most times in the history. Shakib has become the Player of the Tournament four times in BPL history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2023 Batvisa News